CAITHNESS BROCH PROJECT

Apologies

Guto Rhys

Minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Caithness Broch Project

Location Google Meet
Date 30 January 2024

Time 8pm

T						
In	Αı	те	nc	30	n	ce

Kirsty Lilley (m) Members (11) Non-Members Robin Herrick (Chairman) Caroline Nicolay Shona Scatchard (m) Iain Maclean (Vice Chair) Rory Brown Rita Baker (m) Dawn Mackay Karen Downs Jay Brooks (m) Justine Bainbridge (m) Kenneth McElroy Alison Preston Pete MacRae Ellie Lawson Scott Geekie (m) Chris Aitken John Fountain Steve Petoskey Mark Westmorland Lilly Hurd Angela MacGregor Will Morrison Joan Anderson Leslie Neilson **Alex Groves** Kacper Kwiatek Anthea Atkins Roderick Dunnett Sara Herrick Daniel Quinn Jill Seaton David Lynn **Barry Hird** Cait Gillespie

Sent out prior to the meeting:

- 1) AGM details
- 2) Chairman's report
- 3) Current directors and committee members
- 4) Director candidate biographies
- 5) CBP AGM guidance

AGENDA

- Apologies
- Approval of minutes of the 2022 AGM
- Chairman's Report
- Treasurer's Q&A (submit questions in advance)
- Resolutions
- Election of Directors

RESOLUTIONS

1. There were no resolutions.

CAITHNESS BROCH PROJECT

Meeting commenced at 2000

1. Approval of minutes

1.1. The minutes of the previous AGM were proposed by Pete MacRae and seconded by Iain Maclean, with a majority vote in favour of approving the minutes.

2. Chairman's report

2.1. The Chairman's report for 2023 highlighted significant progress for the Caithness Broch Project, particularly regarding the Flygla site, identified for constructing the replica broch. Achievements included traffic and ecological surveys, feedback from planning and conservation bodies, and securing agreements with the landowner on purchase terms. Outreach activities, talks, and events were extensive, both locally and with external organisations, promoting heritage and education. An amendment to the Articles of Association now permits members from beyond Caithness, broadening participation. Financial reserves remain steady, with income and expenditure closely monitored to ensure sustainability. Future plans continue to prioritise careful, community-supported development of the broch project while maintaining high governance standards.

3. Treasurer's report / accounts

3.1. No questions regarding the accounts were received prior to the meeting or in the meeting. The same accountant has been used now for a number of years for the examination of the accounts.

4. Presentations

4.1. A presentation was given by the committee focusing on the achievements of the year and the plans for 2024. The presentation highlighted the activities towards progressing the Flygla site.

5. Resolution

5.1. No resolutions were submitted by the committee or members.

6. Election of directors

- 6.1. All the directors were proposed for re-election.
- 6.2. RH explained that all directors stand down from the committee and stand for re-election. Each director was elected in turn unanimously.

Robin Herrick
Iain Maclean
Dawn Mackay
Kenneth McElroy
Kirsty Lilley
Pete MacRae
Chris Aitken

CAITHNESS BROCH PROJECT

7. Wrap up

- 7.1. RH thanked the other committee members, Jill Seaton, Joy Rollinson, Olivia Warner, Paula Fisher, Sara Herrick. With special thanks for Sara Herrick for her dedication to the roles of membership secretary and treasurer, and Sandra Maclean for her assistance to the project in the role of merchandise administrator.
- 7.2. RH asked if the members had any questions for the committee.
- 7.3. RH thanked those attending the AGM.

Meeting adjourned at 2100

Minutes Approved	By:
------------------	-----

Robin Herrick, Chair	
Signed:	
Date:	
Iain Maclean, Vice Chairman	
Signed:	
Date:	